Oyster sauce is a very popular seasoning in Asian cooking. But for vegetarians… well, the oyster is an animal so oyster sauce cannot be used in vegetarian cooking. Fortunately, there is an alternative. There are “oyster” sauces made with mushrooms. This is what I use for Sam’s stir fries. I bought it at Shopwise. There was only this brand available so I picked up a bottle. The brand is Wan Ja Shan and it’s imported from Taiwan.
There’s more than one brand in the local market? Yes, and the ingredients lists vary. »